Asian Legal Business South East Asia Law Awards 2019 Winner

Abraham Vergis was named as the Managing Partner of the Year at the annual Asian Legal Business SE Asia Awards 2019.

Legal 500 – Leading Firm

Providence Law Asia has been named as a Leading Firm in the Dispute Resolution area. Our Managing Director, Abraham Vergis has also been listed in the elite “Leading Lawyers” list in the area of Dispute Resolution.

Benchmark Litigation Recommended Firm 2019

Providence Law Asia is a boutique dispute resolution practice providing independent counsel services in international arbitration and litigation before the Singapore courts. The firm is known for its work in commercial, insolvency and construction disputes.

Most of the firm’s key disputes cases during the research period were led by managing director Abraham Vergis who is known for his work in the commercial, insolvency and international arbitration spaces.

Case highlights include acting for the executive director of Macquarie Bank against a Singaporean subsidiary of a Chinese state-owned on a dispute relating to a commodity swap transaction governed by English law, and in particular, the ‘close-out amount’ stipulated under the 2002 International Swap and Derivatives Association Master Agreement.

Key clients include Citigroup’s private banking arm and Macquarie Bank.

Asian Legal Business South East Asia Law Awards 2018 – Rising Law Firm of the Year

Clinched the award on 10 May 2018 against older and more established finalist firms from the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia and Singapore.

The Legal 500 – Recommended Firms (Dispute Resolution)

We have been named as a recommended firm together with other notable firms in Singapore. The Legal 500 is a publication providing unbiased commentary and insight into the legal marketplaces of 18 Asia Pacific jurisdictions.

IFLR1000 Recognised Firms 2017 & 2018 – Restructuring & Insolvency

IFLR1000 is the guide to the world’s leading financial and corporate law firms and ranks them based on transactional evidence and peer and client feedback.

Asia Law Profiles 2017 & 2019 – Recommended Firm for Dispute Resolution and Litigation & Restructuring and Insolvency

Asia Law Profiles is the only guide that focuses exclusively on regional and domestic law firms in the region and produce ratings of recommended firms based on extensive analysis of the key players and deals.

Acquisition International Dispute Resolution – Best Specialist Dispute Practice & Award for Excellence in Cross-Border Arbitrations –Singapore

Acquisition International was awarded prizes to the top practitioners in this fiercely competitive market. Providence Law was chosen to accept these awards after a vigorous process of peer review and meticulous in-house research, which allows Acquisition International to nominate the most respected lawyers and law practitioners in the industry.

Best Lawyers in Singapore (International Arbitration)

Best Lawyers, published in 1983 is the oldest and most respected peer-reviewed publication in the legal profession. The publication is based on an exhaustive and rigorous peer-review survey in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidently evaluate their professional peers.

ACQ5 Law Awards 2016 – Boutique International Arbitration & Litigation Law Firm of the Year – Singapore

The ACQ5 annual award programmes recognise organisations and individuals that have achieved outstanding commercial success in designated areas of expertise. ACQ operates an independent nomination process and all award winners are chosen by the relevant industry itself on the basis of online surveys and reader votes.